All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coyote control - let’s talk about a system for controlling predators

alldaysit

5 year old buck +
I am overrun with coyotes on one of my properties. How do I put a system in place for controlling them? I have zero experience trapping or hunting them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

On the positive side, lots of coyotes means no wolves! In Wisconsin, If you own the property, you can trap coyotes year round. Take the DNR trapping course, you will learn alot. Start trapping. :emoji_wink:

I just started snaring last winter and caught 19 of them. It was easy but try not to walk on the trails that you will be hanging on. Go out 2-3 days after a fresh snow and find some trails that walk within 18" of some smaller diameter trees. Hang a snare on the tree and your good to go. It might catch one the same night or a month later but they will run the same trail again eventually.

With that said you arent going to have that much luck unless you blanket the area. You're going to want to have a good 2 dozen sets at all times so you may as well order 4 dozen to start. Once you catch one they are junk. You can re use the parts if you want to make your own or have a buddy that will but you'll need new cable.

I have more pictures of twin fawns this year than I've ever had and even a group of triplets. Not sure if it was from removing some yotes or not but it sure didn't hurt.

I would probably order control by effectiveness in this order:
Poison
Trapping
Hunting