chopping wood using a tire

Simple but good idea.

Last weekend on Craigslist I saw where someone was selling a chunck of wood with tire attached for wood chopping. Price was $20. I had never thought of it before but it does seem like a great idea.

A better Idea is to fire up the gas motor on the Hydraulic log splitter.;)

I have been splitting my firewood this way for around 15 years.A loadhandler in the truck box works great with this.Back up to the splitting block,open the tailgate and start splitting.I find the worst part is bending over all the time to pick up the blocks to split again or pile.From the tailgate to the splitting block to the pile without ever reaching down to pick a block off the ground.Way easier on the back and gut,lol

A better Idea is to fire up the gas motor on the Hydraulic log splitter.;)
for me it's about the exercise. I think it's a great cardio workout. Nothing like swinging the axe for an hour or two everyday. Its a whole body workout. Yes.. a log splitter is way easier. but, I like the idea of the tire so you don't have to keep standing the logs up. I thought it was a simple but brilliant idea.

We may haul a tire up to our grouse camp location where we stay in tents and split wood by hand. Great idea.

At my age........exercising could be catastrophic! I will pass on that crap!

The worst part is setting the logs up.. I can't wait to try it out.

I guess maybe I am old school. Nothing beats a good cardio workout and free one at that!!! I love splitting wood. I have an outdoor fire pit and I probably have way too much. but I give it away to inlaws and aunt and uncles. I think its fun and I also think it is good for you. I guarantee I can split wood faster than a wood spliter. I am beat by the end of it, but for me it's about the exercise. Plus, I have enough gas powered stuff.