All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Apple seedlings grown from seed are turning purple?

montavonm

A good 3 year old buck
Hi everyone, I have been experimenting with growing some trees from seed. Over the past 4-5 months I have grown about 120 apple trees from seed in cups inside my apartment. I recently planted them outside and they looked fantastic when I was finished. I watered them, and the first 2-3 days it was overcast and cool. It's been 9 or 10 days now and almost all my trees have turned purple! I am new to the fruit tree game (besides planting a few peach trees last year) and have no idea what the cause of this is, or if I've done something wrong. The trees don't look dead - the leaves aren't wilted or falling off, they are literally just turning purple. Does anyone have any idea what is going on? Thanks in advance

Attachments

• IMG_1605.JPG
    IMG_1605.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 34
The photo is over my 4 biggest/best looking trees. Several of them do not look as well (if you could even call it well) as the ones in the picture.

Lots of crabs have reddish or purplish leaves. They may just be responding to the new conditions and turning their natural color.

I wouldn't worry about it either. They look healthy, just an interesting color.

They will be fine!

-John

Thanks for the input guys! I will keep an eye on them and post updates on here as to how they are doing.

Looks like blue tongue disease. :)

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg Could be an adjustment to the sun and wind. I had a bunch of my leaves discolor similar to yours and then the leaves died but I still have green growth at top thank god image.jpg
Also some of my other grafts with mostly sick or failed trees