When to plant trees

Oklahunter

Yearling... With promise
I gave red oak and Osage orange trees in containers. When should I plant them in the ground? Should I do it now or wait till they bloom? Do freezing temps hurt after I plant? I’m really a novice at this. Thanks in advance!!

I would wait until after the last freeze date for your area has passed.

I gave red oak and Osage orange trees in containers. When should I plant them in the ground? Should I do it now or wait till they bloom? Do freezing temps hurt after I plant? I’m really a novice at this. Thanks in advance!!
Plant them anytime they are dormant and you can dig a hole. Containerized trees can have circling and j-hooking roots. You'll need to prune any of these. As long as the tree is dormant, you want to get it in the ground as soon as practical. Freezing temps won't hurt a dormant tree. The root system needs as much time as possible to adapt.

I agree with Jack, on if they are dormant. If they are not dormant, and they are actively growing, wait until you wont get another frost, then plant it, and keep it watered, or wait until fall when they go dormant again.

Mind you, I know nothing about orange trees.

Always make sure you water them in sufficiently when you plant them (dry air pockets will dry roots quickly and seriously injure or kill the tree). Then, water appropriately during the first year.

I didn’t realize OP had dormant trees. I guess reading is fundamental

I plant them any time the ground isn't frozen

I wouldn’t plant the hedge trees at all

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I wouldn’t plant the hedge trees at all

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
With my high ph soil (7.5) I don’t have a lot of options.

Thanks for all the replies. I’ll start planting them this week.