When to fertilize

Peeps

5 year old buck +
It’s been a late spring up by me. Now we have finally warmed up but night temps dip back into the 20’s for part of next week. I’m running up to my land tomorrow to plant 2 trees and do some other stuff. My question is should I spread my fertilizer around my established apple trees when I’m up there tomorrow or wait till next time I’m going up in mid May?

Im no apple expert, but if it can be done and you got the time, do it....... I always got a few extra projects I bring with me if I got the extra time, which is next to never........ But, every now and then a few get done.

If the soil is very sandy and doesn't hold nutrients that well, maybe hold back. IF you got some good ability to absord and hold nutrients like clay does, I'd go for it.

How heavy you spreading it?

Im no apple expert, but if it can be done and you got the time, do it....... I always got a few extra projects I bring with me if I got the extra time, which is next to never........ But, every now and then a few get done.

If the soil is very sandy and doesn't hold nutrients that well, maybe hold back. IF you got some good ability to absord and hold nutrients like clay does, I'd go for it.

How heavy you spreading it?
Our season has been running a couple of weeks later than usual. The trees have been slow waking up this spring so I’m gonna wait. I have sandy soil so probably not a bad idea anyway. I have plenty to do up there anyway now that I finally stopped running sap for maple syrup just last weekend.

I usually wait until it leafs out.

I took a peak at mine today, they aren’t even at silver tip yet.

Spring sometime just don’t do it late summer so the trees put on a ton of growth heading into fall

When I looked at my trees today it was a no brainer as almost all haven’t woken up yet. I spread lime instead and planted 2 new ones. Grousee supervised with the planting. 39680DEE-0F73-46D0-AFE3-658010EB85A5.png