What is this?

Coletrain8

Buck Fawn
Can someone tell me what this is on my apple trees and how to treat it? How bad will it harm the trees? I'm new to this and googling hasn't given me anything conclusive.

Thank you all

Attachments

• IMG_0903.jpg
    IMG_0903.jpg
    584.5 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_0905.jpg
    IMG_0905.jpg
    373 KB · Views: 84
It looks like cedar rust to me. Do you have red cedars in your area?

I have similar damage on my apple trees and they do fine without any spraying. I'm sure it reduces the fruit output some, but I've never had it kill or severely damage a tree.

Can someone tell me what this is on my apple trees and how to treat it? How bad will it harm the trees? I'm new to this and googling hasn't given me anything conclusive.

Thank you all
The first picture (yellow/orange dots) is definitely cedar apple rust. I've never had to treat it myself.

The 2nd photo looks like frog eye leaf spot/black rot. That gives leaf spots that are brown with a purplish border. It is also a fungal disease but not related to the cedars or junipers. The black rot is when it affects the fruit or limbs.

Agree the first photo shows CAR

As others have mentioned, the first picture shows Cedar Apple Rust, which is mostly cosmetic in the northern states like NY, PA MI, WI and MN. However, Native Hunter reports CAR takes a much harder toll on his trees in central KY. So depending on your location, this may – or may not – be a serious concern to you.

There are plenty of varieties that CAR resistant, so don’t let this slow you down, just be aware is present in your area.