WARNING - Idiot Alert and Reminder for EVERYONE!

yoderjac

5 year old buck +
I'm a Hunter Ed instructor and can't count how many times I've told students how to handle a misfire. With today's modern firearm ammunition, it almost never happens. That infrequency makes it easy to forget. I had a nice fat doe at 50 yards tonight. It is the second day of rifle season in my area. She presented a great shot position and I squeezed off the trigger. "POP" when the 30-.06. The deer bounded off at the pop. I carefully ejected the cartridge for examination. I still had a half hour of shooting time left, so I racked another cartridge but the action would not close.

It did not take me long to figure out that the bullet only moved a fraction of an inch down the barrel. However, if has move an inch or so, I probably would not have dawned on me what had happened. Had that been the case, very bad things would have happened!

Misfires don't happen often, but when something goes wrong, ALWAYS CHECK FOR OBSTRUCTION FIRST and think about the hunt later.

Thanks,

Jack

Good point---that could have been real bad.

Jack, thanks for the reminder. What did you feel in terms of recoil and how loud was it compared to a normal shot?

What brand ammo.

Jack, thanks for the reminder. What did you feel in terms of recoil and how loud was it compared to a normal shot?

It was Winchester Powermax Bonded 30-.06 ammo. There was no recoil. It was a soft pop that was not much louder than my .22 pellet gun. If you have ever used a muzzleloader and popped a cap over grass to verify the barrel was clear, you have heard the sound. If there was any powder in the cartridge, it was a very small amount. The pressure created was so little that the bullet moved down the barrel less than the length of the bullet itself. That is why I could not chamber a second load.

I knew immediately it was a misfire. I simply went brain dead, more focused on continuing my hunt than safety!

Thanks,

Jack