Tractor safety

buckdeer1

5 year old buck +
I just got done working a fatal tractor roll over,they rolled around a 50 HP 70s model JD off in a ditch while brush hogging. Family could find him so they started calling neighbors.The ditch had 6ft johnson grass on both sides.Another reason to put life 360 on your phone.Be careful out there.He wasn't doing anything different than alot of us on this site.

Dang sorry to hear that.

I often find myself pushing the limits a little. “Worked last year, let me see if I can get a little closer.” Never had a close call, but I think about it a lot.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hard to like this post, but thanks for the reminder to be safe. I am still learning the capabilities and limits on my new tractor, and safety must be a priority over “getting the job done quickly.”

Very sad to hear. If you have ROPS and a seatbelt - Never turn the ignition without seatbelt buckled. Way too many people die in tractor roll-overs.

Lost a buddy in high school to a similar fate.

just came across this on Facebook.....and thought I should post it here...... (this was not me - thankfully) A spinning PTO shaft is seriously dangerous.

PTO.jpeg
For those of you who don’t know, I was in an accident yesterday. My shirt wast caught by the pto of the tractor and it took me with it. Other than a sprained arm and a lot of cuts and burns on my body I am fine. If Gregg Fulton hadn’t been there to grab me when it threw me to the other side I probably wouldn’t be here. It ripped every stitch of clothes off of my body. Dad has some broken ribs but at least he still has a son. Count your blessings we are not promised tomorrow.
**UPDATE**