Silky Zubat

ghilliehunter

5 year old buck +
Habitat Addicts,
I am wanting to buy a new saw. Which size Silky would you recommend. Thanks.

I've got a 330 and it's been great.

Thank you Jim!

Have you used a Silky, John?

I believe mine is a 300. Unbelievable saw. I'm an old mechanic and appreciate good tools. I'll use my Silky until it's no longer useful and then buy another one. I bought mine last fall and plan on buying another one for my soon when we do more hinge cutting next fall.

I bought a silky zubat after reading jim brauker's book

I really like it

bill

The MS 170.... ..... sorry, couldn't resist.

I've hinge cut at least 2,500 trees in the past year and couldn't imagine doing that with a hand saw.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The MS 170.... ..... sorry, couldn't resist.

I've hinge cut at least 2,500 trees in the past year and couldn't imagine doing that with a hand saw.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Where they really excel is in the canopy. Zubat is 9oz, chainsaw is 9+ pounds. So even if you have to pull a few times to get through a limb it's still less overall work than lifting the saw over your head. Chainsaw is going to be faster, but not always easier, and certainly not always as safe. I've yet to find anyone who's had a pruning saw kick back in their face or cut their leg open to the point of needing stitches. ;)

What you hinging guys really need is the hydraulic backpack pruning chainsaw. Those things will eat your ms170 for a snack. :D

Have you used a Silky, John?
No, I have not.

I bought the felco expecting to use it for cutting harvesting. We took it once while putting up a tree stand and now never leave without it.

All the years I spent with cheap crappy saws because I didn't know better. Never again.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

330 ordered and on its way.

Holy crap those expensive! With the holder it is $150. You could buy a small Stihl top handle saw for that.