Remove Lower Limbs

Victor Van Meter

5 year old buck +
Should I remove the lower limbs on this newly planted apple tree? Thanks for the help.

VVapple tree.jpg

I would remove them all and then maybe make a heading cut on main leader to promote branching but hopefully much higher than the existing branches. Could try cutting into bark just above the buds you want to start new branches instead of the heading cut of main leader but I’ve no personal experience with that method to promote branching.

I agree, I previously left a lot lower branches because I was too shy about pruning and I’m regretting it. I want all my scaffolds at 4 feet or above, so why waste energy making wood I’m going to eventually get rid of anyway.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OK, I'll differ.
On a newly planted tree, I'd leave them for the first year... more leaf area to make food to drive root growth and trunk caliper increase.
But... it'll probably be fine with or without them.

On a newly planted tree, I'd leave them for the first year... more leaf area to make food to drive root growth and trunk caliper increase.
Agreed

This is a tough one. But if it were me, I take off the big competing leader to the right, that one is going to suck up too much energy, but I would leave all the other branches below it for the reason Lucky_P mentions... more leaf area to produce food this summer. Take those lower branches off next year when you're working with a good straight tree.