Newbie here. I have a few questions about purchasing land.

Hoytvectrix

5 year old buck +
I'm currently saving like crazy with the hopes of purchasing land next year or the year after. The two pieces that are the most likely targets both touch the family farm in Missouri and both have their own advantages and disadvantages. What I am wondering is, what is the typical amount of money required in a down payment for property? I have read that it can vary anywhere between 20 and 50%, which is a crazy amount of variability. I ultimately know that I won't really know for sure until I got in an speak with some loan officers. I am just taking this time to introduce myself here, and to see if there is anybody around that would know from experience. Thanks!

I think 20%. I have paid 50% and got no better interest rate than had I paid 20% down.

I'm currently saving like crazy with the hopes of purchasing land next year or the year after. The two pieces that are the most likely targets both touch the family farm in Missouri and both have their own advantages and disadvantages. What I am wondering is, what is the typical amount of money required in a down payment for property? I have read that it can vary anywhere between 20 and 50%, which is a crazy amount of variability. I ultimately know that I won't really know for sure until I got in an speak with some loan officers. I am just taking this time to introduce myself here, and to see if there is anybody around that would know from experience. Thanks!