New Clover Plot

landlubber

A good 3 year old buck
I've been reading on this forum for a long time soaking up as much as I can but have not contributed much. I thought I would share a big project of mine this year. I'm far from an expert here. I've got plenty to learn. Hopefully you find this as interesting as I do. Tips are welcome.

In the spring of 2016 my dad had the ash trees on his property removed while they still had timber value. As many are probably aware the emerald ash borer has devastated ash trees across the midwest. While shed hunting this past winter I got the idea of putting in a food plot in a section of the woods which was naturally open following the timber harvest (the area was a cow pasture 20 years ago). While there's plenty of food for the deer around us, I try to spend more time creating bedding cover, the nearby food doesn't set up well for hunting because it's either on the neighbor's (they hunt the prop line exclusively) or not great given the prevailing winds. My thought was I could clear off the natural opening, plant clover and see how/if the deer would utilize the plot. What I like is that the spot sets up well as there's plenty of cover to the NW and NE and some on the north edge. Also, I think I can get in/out easily without putting pressure on the deer using a ground blind. Worse case scenario was that the spot doesn't workout and I just let it transition naturally, which would be great bedding. So this is quite the experiment.

Here is a picture of the spot from the north facing SE that I took on January 7th of this year.

Here is a picture from the NW facing the south. My dad and I were just getting started clearing out the tree tops from the timber harvest (this ended up being way more work/time than expected). It was somehow still enjoyable.