Misc Crab & Apple pics

greyphase

5 year old buck +
I'm lucky to have a good number of wild crabs and apples growing within sight of my house. They all are tagged with a number and I've been observing them for several years now. This crab (#5) holds great promise as a heavy cropper and very late hanger.
Crabapples%20007_zpsy1ms6lix.jpg

Crabapples%20014_zps4je7gcwj.jpg

It's crabs are borne in clusters and shows minimal bug and disease damage.

This crab is a very limby tree and am in the process of turning it into a Frankenapple tree with many different limb grafts. This year it's carrying it's best crop so I'll let some of the original tree grow. It's crabs drop in Oct.
Crabapples%20016_zpslokjyugb.jpg

Crabapples%20020_zpsceus58hn.jpg

Another Frankenapple tree that I had limb grafted 2 Hudson's Golden Gem's scion to in 2013.
Crabapples%20022_zpsglr8bdq1.jpg

It's carrying 3 HGG apples this year. This is the nicest looking one.
Crabapples%20023_zps6sanuipy.jpg

These are two Linda's Sweet crab scions I grafted to this tree this spring that have put on good growth.
Crabapples%20024_zpswtcvm2wr.jpg

Crabapples%20025_zpsepgggyhx.jpg

And finally this tree only has a few crabs on but they are certainly different looking from my other crabs with a ribbed shape. I've been grafting this tree over to different varieties but will leave a limb of the original tree grow just to see how it produces in years to come.
Crabapples%20029_zps5wl9qqce.jpg

Crabapples%20040_zpss6g9hvbp.jpg

Grey - I was just whining on the other crab thread about the abundance of nice crabs they have in Minnesota growing wild. Then I came to this thread !! I never see crabs like you show in the pix growing wild. APPLES - yes, crabs - no. Any chance of getting a stick or 2 from that red crab in pic #2 ?? I'll be sending you more scion from those late-hangers that I found last year. I'll be looking for watersprouts too this time.