Let’s talk about your corn plots

Dukslayr

5 year old buck +
This is my first year with corn. My farmer is late this year, but ultimately I’m not harvesting anything so I think we will be fine with the later planting date. He just turned under my cover crops (rye and various annual clover) and knifed in a good load of pig manure. Corn should be in the ground within the the next few days.
Presuming I get a good stand, which I believe we will, I’m curious what you all do with corn in the fall. Here is what I’m trying to figure out:
I want to get cover crops in for next year - rye and clover again - what do you do to get cover crops into your corn? I have about 4-5 acres going in. The edges (10ish rows) will all be left standing. How much do you all mow or knock down in order to get cover crops in and what method do you use to get them in? My thought what was to knock down strips (20’ mowed/knocked down, 20’ standing, etc) throughout the plot and then broadcast up and down the mowed strips, but I’m not sure I’ll penetrate the standing segments with seed. For those of you who routinely have corn and also use a cover crop, what’s your method/plan? Thank you!

I'd plant the clover after you spray and when there is a good rain in the forecast. In your area I'd be willing to try subterranean clover. Plant the winter rye when the corn is about waist high. I'm guessing that will be late July. That is plenty early but you aren't using it as forage.

I've broadcasted into a pretty crappy corn stand last fall and did ok w/ my cereal grains. But the corn wasn't thick enough to shade everything out. The deer or groundhogs or coons had done their damage and there was a lot of sunlight getting to the ground, so i broadcasted as best I could.