Hunting options in straight walled cartridge states

yoderjac

5 year old buck +
I've been reading the 350 Legend thread and enjoying it (https://habitat-talk.com/threads/350-legend.12854/). From what I understand, much of the interest in it and similar firearms is the regulation in some state like Indiana, Iowa, and Ohio. I don't hunt in any of those states, and I'm no expert on the regulations there. I'm sure a significant amount of interest comes from nostalgia and tradition as well.

Completely unrelated to this, for completely different reasons, I started my journey into Smokeless Muzzleloading (https://habitat-talk.com/threads/journey-to-stop-smoking.13254/ ). I am really falling in love with the Smokeless Muzzleloader. We don't have a straight walled restriction here, so I've been using an Encore in .300 Win Mag and old Rem .30-06. I find the smokeless every bit as effective.

This got me thinking about the guys with straight wall restrictions. Again, I'm not expert on regulations in other states, but a quick internet search shows there is no powder type restrictions for muzzleloaders in those 3 states. (Please correct me if I'm wrong). I didn't check into the details, but I think in most states, you can use a more primitive weapon during a modern firearm season. For the casual reader let me say DON'T USE SMOKELESS POWDER IN A MUZZLELOADER THAT IS NOT SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED FOR IT. Having said that, the only downside I've found to smokeless muzzleloading is the cost. Most smokeless muzzleloaders are custom made and will set your back at least a couple thousand.

However, if you are in one of the states that require straight wall cartridges and are looking to reach out to longer ranges, you might want to look into the regulations on muzzleloaders in your state. If your state allows, a smokeless muzzleloader could be used in both muzzleloader as well as your general firearm season amortizing the cost over more hunting. Just a thought.