Hinge cutting Cedars?

EarthySpirit

5 year old buck +
I have 2 ridges on my new property comprised almost entirely of eastern red cedars. I'm debating about having them logged or hinge cutting for bedding. But I'm new to land management and I don't know if they hinge cut well or if I'd be better off logging them. My goal is to create cover for the deer to bed in. I have plenty of food elsewhere, I just need more bedding. Anyone have experience hinge-cutting cedars? Or would I be better off logging them and let new growth come in to provide cover in a couple years? thanks for the help.

I've only tried to huge cut one red cedar and it was a failure. That's just one tree so it's certainly not definitive. Maybe others have more experience. If thier big trees and worth $ I'd get someone to to give you an estimate.

Nothing wrong with cutting some and leaving them there. My deer will eat fresh cut red cedar, they may also bed among the downed ones and it will let sunlight hit the floor.

Don't know where you're located but one note on hinge cutting I don't see mentioned often is a north facing ridge. In my experience in MO regeneration is very slow on a deep N facing ridge.

Keep in mind if you need thermal cover, red cedars are a good tree for that purpose and if you cut them down, in many areas they will take a very long time to provide any new thermal cover due to their slow growth rate, especially as younger trees. From my perspective, this mainly applies to areas in the upper Midwest(I am in central WI, Zone 4b), not sure how fast they will regenerate in warmer climate zones. Arborday.org lists them as a medium growth rate tree at 13" to 24" per year, I can assure you that I have not seen that type of growth on young, regenerating, red cedar in areas I frequent. Large "adult" trees, maybe, but from seedlings and up to 8 feet can take a very long time.