First fawn to survive one week

5 year old buck +
Of the three fawns I have on camera, this is the only one to survive past a few days. Coyotes have been the main predators. This doe is distinguished by the fact she does not have significant scaring on her body as the other two does had. Not sure what caused these scars (one photo attached of many).

55173784-5E0E-4DF8-BD9F-AFC95FBF0BF9.jpeg77A229FC-C5A8-413C-AD2C-752D0CD823F2.jpeg

It makes me jealous when I see fawn recruitment numbers from .8 to 1 fawn per doe. Mine hover around .3 fawns per doe. Adult does in my area average 1.7 fetuses each. There are a lot of fawns that have to die to go from 1.7 fetuses to .3 fawns in September.

I just finished the "Deer Stewardship" course and noted that .3 was mentioned as a pretty typical number in areas that have coyotes. This is my first year doing more than an informal camera survey, and I am glad I am doing so. Hopefully the numbers will help inform our coops doe harvest goals. We have lots of does, but very poor recruitment, based on both the photos and what I am hearing from my farming neighbors who tend to see more deer than most.

I just finished the "Deer Stewardship" course and noted that .3 was mentioned as a pretty typical number in areas that have coyotes. This is my first year doing more than an informal camera survey, and I am glad I am doing so. Hopefully the numbers will help inform our coops doe harvest goals. We have lots of does, but very poor recruitment, based on both the photos and what I am hearing from my farming neighbors who tend to see more deer than most.
The way to overcome a fawn recruitment of .3 per doe is have a high number of does. I have a lot of does - but we dont shoot any - so the neighbors can. It can be challenging maintaining that number of does.

Reactions: 356