Eagle Forage Wheat

gunfun13

5 year old buck +
Has anyone had experience with the forage wheat from Eagle Seeds? From what I gather it is taller, leafier, and tillers more than grain varieties.

I removed some plot space with CRP enrollment and after this season and now find myself needing to maximize production with the space I have left. Brassicas obviously produce a lot, but once they're gone their gone. I had several rye and triticale plots germinate with volunteer seed in early August, I thought they'd be rank and worthless by season but let them go as an experiment. Boy was I wrong. Between a drier fall and browse pressure, they never got much more than 6" and are currently putting green short and still drawing deer. The idea of a high tonnage plot that can get eaten to the dirt and continue to grow when conditions allow is certainly appealing.

I have no experience with Eagle forage wheat. I don't get much difference between how deer relate to different cereal grains here. I don't know the details of your application, but have you considered using the CRP land to produce deer food? If you have substantial land in CRP, you can produce a lot more deer food on broad acreage than you can on a small food plot.

Thoughts?

I have no experience with Eagle forage wheat. I don't get much difference between how deer relate to different cereal grains here. I don't know the details of your application, but have you considered using the CRP land to produce deer food? If you have substantial land in CRP, you can produce a lot more deer food on broad acreage than you can on a small food plot.

Thoughts?