Doing a timber stand improvement

Weed Wacker

5 year old buck +
I am planning on doing a tsi on about 30 acres of my 110. taking out mostly what I consider junk trees, lots of locusts, some ash, some elm, a couple big old maples, about a dozen big Sycamore that are on the side of the ridge, and a good bit of black walnut. there's also a lot of downed trees that need to be cleaned up, it's such a jungle at places that it's actually a blockade for the deer, there's areas that they simply just go around. A local logger tells me he would do it for 50 50 all the saw logs would go to the local saw mill, paper wood to the paper mill and the rest for fire wood. He would give me a copy of all the tickets. I have never done this before, does this sound like a fair deal ? the locals tell me he does a good job and is trust worthy.

That sounds like a timber sale, which is what is best to do anyway. Is he also going to cut small trash trees, to improve future timber quality or is it just marketable timber being cut?