decoys

S.T.Fanatic

5 year old buck +
I have limited experience using decoys. I don't see them get mentioned on here. Who uses them, what brand do you use, and what has been your experience using them?

I have used one several times. I use an old 3D archery target. I use it when I am hunting near open ag fields. I have never killed a deer using one, but that is not because of a lack of opportunity. Not sure how much detail you are after.... I'll see if I can dig up some pics or video.

#1 - use in open areas where the deer can see the decoy from a long way
#2 - buck and doe decoys attract bucks
#3 - doe decoys spook the crap out of does!
#4 - use a buck that will be smaller than the bucks you are hunting for (grind down antlers or even remove one if needed.
#5 - use pieces of white plastic bag as tail or ears to flutter in the wind....the movement catches their eye.
#6 - use a piece of orange tape around the waist and neck if using in gun season
#7 - do NOT walk across an open area with it up on your shoulder....it draws the attention of deer and road hunters!
#8 - spray the decoy with scent killer and use a proper deer scent if so desired.
#9 - do NOT allow the deer to reach the decoy. Try to set the decoy up so the deer walks past you while heading to the decoy.
#10 - deer will approach the decoy head on

Good advice. I've not personally had a lot of actino with it, but know guys who have. They say once the deer is locked onto the deke, you can sing the national anthem and you won't booger em off.

Angle the buck towards you so that a mad buck will approach how you want him to is great advice.

We've tore off 1 antler before to make the buck look subordinate.

About 8 years ago or so, we had a youth hunter shoulder shoot a 160"+ deer in the shoulder, and he was still wanting to fight after he got hit. The poor little guy dropped his fannie pack while nocking another arrow and that's what ran him off.