Corded versus cordless tools

b116757

5 year old buck +
I love my cordless tools particularly cordless drills and 1/2” impact drivers but for most other tools I prefer corded tools they are not as handy but for much lower use tools they will still be functional in 25+ years of sitting around the shop where as most cordless tools will most likely be obsolete. Now if I was a contractor the convenience of cordless tools may outway the longevity of corded tools since they will be worn out long before the battery system is obsolete. I recently bought a couple new tin nibblers for doing steel siding/roofing and this got me thinking about this subject again. Even on drills I keep 2 or 3 cheap corded dewalt drills laying around my shop I like to keep them sprinkled around the shop like I do tape measures and hammer's.

Last summer I loaded all my old DeWalt 18 volt tools into a box and gave them to the church rummage sale. I'd replaced many with newer style batteries and didn't know where to get replacement batteries for the 18 volt system. Gave away a couple of saws and drills and chargers. Then I saw that somebody offers aftermarket batteries for them now. lol. Oh well I only use the driver drill now.....and have some corded tools for the more HD jobs.

I still have my Craftsman corded circular saw and drill that my parents bought me at Christmas when I was 10 years old. They still work great and have never given me any problems. The problem with cordless is that the battery design keeps changing forcing you to buy new tools. When a battery costs $80, and you need at least 2, you are almost forced to upgrade to a new tool.

I still use the corded indoors but anything more than 50' from an outlet I use battery. As long as I remembered to charge the battery that is.

I have completely switched over to cordless, the convenience of it is worth it to me. I don't do any big projects anymore or I might look at it differently.