Clethodim in new sprayer

Derek Reese 29

5 year old buck +
I recently got a Chapin mix on exit 25 gallon sprayer for my 4 wheeler and was wondering about some math issues I am having...
I want to spray clethodim, which for the clover I am trying to spray says 6-16 oz per acre. As I have yet to really use this sprayer, I am unsure how many gallons per acre it will take to cover.
(In using it to spray just water last week it appeared to take 3-4 gallons per 0.4 acre, or ~10 gallons per acre.
On the sprayer, the rate setting is in ounces per gallon. So if I am shooting for 10-12 ounces per acre, would setting the ounces per gallon to the 1oz/gallon setting?
Also, due to there being a stand alone tank for the herbicide concentrate, do you think it would be possible to "cut" the amount of herbicide in 1/2, add that much water (so for 16 oz of herbicide, add 16 oz of water) and then just double the rate (turn it up to 2oz/gal)?
The 1 oz/gallon amount seems low to me but I am new to all of this and am not generally good at math to begin with. I really don't want to hurt the existing clover, but definitely need to get rid of some of the grass.

Thanks for your help.

I have the same sprayer, all I've sprayed out of it is Gly. For that purpose I had such a small area to spray I turned it to the max oz/gal to ensure a good kill. Ill be following this thread.

I have the same sprayer. Mostly just for Gly but I use a second mix tank filled with Bifen for killing bugs in the yard. My memory is now failing me but I'm pretty sure I asked Chapin support if I could cut the concentrate because I was using Bifen XT before and it did not line up with the 1 oz per gallon marks the sprayer uses. They said not to do that.......but I can't remember why. So, I switched to regular Bifen so I don't have the problem any more.