Cedar Apple Rust (pics)

PrairieShadow

5 year old buck +
This is my first time ever seeing CAR. What do I need to do about it and if action is needed with what chemical?

B164AD43-3D22-45B7-A1BB-76F0BB8C40CD.jpegFD535BE1-283C-4E9A-8DBC-2B18F096CC2C.jpeg

Don't do anything except for planting apple tree cultivars that are highly resistant to it. I'm in CAR Hell but don't worry about it at all, because of the resistant trees. My motto is to plant trees that support life rather than require life support. Good luck.

Don't do anything except for planting apple tree cultivars that are highly resistant to it. I'm in CAR Hell but don't worry about it at all, because of the resistant trees. My motto is to plant trees that support life rather than require life support. Good luck.
It won’t hurt my cedars?

I’ve been planting resistant varieties of apples ever since I learned what CAR was.

It won’t hurt my cedars?

I’ve been planting resistant varieties of apples ever since I learned what CAR was.

Heck no, it won't hurt your cedars. They love that stuff! Good for you on planting those resistant varieties!

Stuff goes from cedars to apple trees. Anything 1/2 mile away or so can infect your apple trees. some sources say to cut down your cedar trees. I prune off those orange things on my cedars. I have used bonide copper to get rid ofthe rust. Good bad or indeifferent,. I spray the remaining stuff in my trank on the cedars.

Some of these fungicides listed also work well on the spruce needle cast. Get the right fungicide and you can do both apple and blue / white spruce trees.

Also, cedar apple rust is something many trees live with.

I dont know the history of cedar apple rust. But, I am pretty sure its not new. Specialty varieties could be prone more to them, just because folks are more adimant about keeping the strain of cultivar alive.....