Apple Trees

ChadHable

Yearling... With promise
I've been thinking of ways to improve food sources on the property that I hunt. My current thought is to plant some apple trees. I have zero knowledge about apple trees so I'm looking for any insight I can gain.

The property I hunt is in central Wisconsin (Border of USDA zones 4B and 4C). I currently have a spot about 50' 100' picked out to plant apple trees. This spot has access to full sun and is relatively dry.

The questions I have are:

• How long does it typically take to produce fruit if I plant a tree that starts out 12-30"?
  • If I purchase 3-5 of the same types of apple trees, will I have any pollinating issues?
  • Do I need to plant clover underneath these trees to help with pollination?
  • A local nursery has Antanovka and Renetka Crab available and state deer love these apples. Anyone have success with these types?
  • If I don't purchase apple trees from the local nursery, is there a reputable online retailer I should consider?
Like I said above, i'm very new to planting apple trees but this is an idea that came to mind while sitting in the tree stand. Any insight that can be provided would be greatly appreciated. I'm trying to do some planning now so I can get a jump on next seasons planting season.

Thank you,
Chad

I've had good luck with St. Lawrence Nursery out of Potsdam NY - they use Antonovka rootstock on their apple trees. They will survive MN and WI winters without any issues. For deer just make sure you don't plant any trees on a dwarf rootstock - you want semi-dwarf, semi-standard or better yet standard. I'd plant a variety of apple varieties so you have early, mid and late season apples dropping. Plant the early season closest to an early archery bow stand. I'd recommend dolgo for that. Disease resistant apples are good if you won't be able to (or don't want to) spray often. I've also heard go