All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Apple tree planting specifics please

TMIL

5 year old buck +
Hey guys, please humor this total noob. I'll be planting apple trees very soon and I always do things better when I have a clear, very specific plan about the procedure. I have read a lot about apple trees on here and elsewhere, but I'd like to hear the conventional wisdom on a few things.

I have my remesh for cages and a roll of lumite, so I am good with those 2 items. I'll have them pre cut and at the planting sites before planting day. I also have some rods I'll use to anchor the cages, I plan to use some 1/4" iron rods, just one per cage. I think that will be fine as the cages are pretty heavy anyway. I will be getting my window screen material very soon.

Stakes for the trees - do you put in a 10' conduit at planting time? I have unlimited access to 4' hardwood stakes (I'm a land surveyor), would one of those work for the first year maybe?

The hole - does anyone use a post hole digger to do the hard work? Would a 12" auger be appropriate?

Amending the hole - I have pretty good soil, its a silt-loam, classified as prime farm land by the USDA. Would it be beneficial to add anything to the soil at planting time? My soil is acidic so I am contemplating adding a little lime in each hole. Good idea? How about adding manure? Should I add some of that stuff that holds water (watersorb?)?

I will say that I am more interested in doing what I can to help the trees survive and thrive rather than save a dollar or 2. But of course I don't want to do something if it is completely unnecessary.

I have already selected my site, south facing slope with full sun.

If there is anything I have missed, please tell me! Thanks fellas!!