Any map nerds out there?

Turkish

5 year old buck +
I’m not a GIS professional but have geeked out over mapping tech since GPS and Google Maps hit the scene decades ago. I’ve started using some free open source software and lidar data to make some topo maps that have been super helpful for hunting and assessing properties before I even visit them in ways I cannot with the old style topos. To my eyes, they’re almost frame-worthy, at least for a hunting cabin. I’ve even found a way to make geo-referenced pdfs that can be used with free apps on smartphones, with location given.

Anybody play around with this stuff? Anybody need a map made?

Thanks to poster farmerdan for helping me get started with this years ago!

Attachments

• 5B9E93B8-A962-4C16-9344-B1019CDDF128.jpeg
    5B9E93B8-A962-4C16-9344-B1019CDDF128.jpeg
    289.5 KB · Views: 51
Not on land so much but google earth also shows the details of the ocean floor at the canyons we fish. Interesting to see what structure is where.

This is a canyon that protrudes inward from the continental shelf. Water pushing toward shore (that is the right temperature) hits these canyon walls causing up welling water that pushes nutrients up that feed the plankton. Once the plankton show the predatory circle of life starts. Within days bait fish, squid, tuna, whales, and everything is feeding there.

Kinda looks like an underwater mountain but it’s the opposite. That’s a canyon.
56708670-08D0-4300-8368-45EFDD85C5B6.jpeg

I’d like to know how you do these. Looks very useful.

I guess I'd call myself a map nerd. I tried using the LIDAR after seeing a post about it. Unfortunately I didnt get far. It would be helpful if some basic info were posted here. What is the best site to access LIDAR, some basic info / instructions, etc

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk