Another rookie question about timing no-till.

wisconsinteacher

5 year old buck +
You can tell I'm a rookie with this. I have another question about no-till plots and timing.

I'm planning on doing the no-till method this year by planting buckwheat and then killing/smashing it to plant my fall plants. My hope it to have brassica on one side and winter rye on the other. Knowing I need to plant the brassica in early Aug, and the winter rye in early Sept. can I successfully let the buckwheat grow an additional 3-4 weeks on the winter rye side or will it get too tall and cause issues? I also am wondering about spraying the buckwheat on the winter rye side. Will it kill the brassicas that are a month old with over spray if it happens? Or would I be better off not spraying and just crushing buckwheat?

Buckwheat will produce viable seed fairly quickly, so you might get a bunch of volunteer buckwheat if you let it mature and then smash it. If the mature buckwheat is left standing the birds will take care of most of the viable seed for you. I don't like spraying more frequently than necessary, so I would probably broadcast both the brassicas and rye into the standing buckwheat in early August. Then immediately after planting I would spray the buckwheat, hope for rain and let the brassica and rye take over. You could add a little brassica in your rye for a little variety as well.

Saw your post on another forum. This is the better place to ask these questions (IMO. This was my reply there:

Buckwheat is a very "fragile" plant. It will live longer in better climates but you can just drag it down with a harrow rake, chain link, run over it with the ATV, mow it or whatever. Once you knock it down, you should be in good shape.