6-8’ Walmart Dunstan Chestnut

Troubles Trees

5 year old buck +
I’ve spent $20-25/ea. on 18-24” Chinese Chestnut seedlings in the past, these are well worth $35/ea. to me. Especially when they came from Chestnut Hill and some already have burrs on them. Yes I know in the fall they will be dirt cheap there and I will keep an eye out for that sale, but historically speaking... I’ve missed every single sale. These are (allegedly) the 2 year trees, the 3 year old trees wouldn’t fit in my truck or I would have grabbed a couple of them too lol yes it’s an addiction but it’s a healthy one.
I’ve never planted Dunstans, and I’ll admit I am also a rookie with Chinese Chestnuts so any advice before planting? The Chestnut Hill tag says plant 30-40’ apart and only needs 6 hours of sun. Is all day sun ok or should I plant in partial shade? It’s been a dry summer so I’m considering waiting till fall to plant, it’s not easy to get water on the hill.

0AC69F7B-0C62-457B-B5F3-CCDED51363E1.jpeg

D51630E8-566D-4982-A88B-61AB2F81454C.jpeg

Last edited:
This is a very tough time of the year to plant chestnuts unless you can water them very often. If you live at your farm and can water when necessary you may be OK. I would plant them where they get morning sun and afternoon shade.

If you can't water them when needed, I would take them out of those smooth containers and hand prune any circling roots. I would then put them in 3 gal Rootbuilder II containers and keep them at home where you can baby them until they go dormant and then plant them.

Good Luck,

Jack

What Jack said. I've had some of those and they do fine but I've had seedlings catch them.

I would wait til fall

Agree to move out of smooth container

Walmart shopping bags @50cents each with a well drained media will prevent root circling

It is almost impossible to overwater them in this setting and the summer heat

Plant them when dormant in sandy/loam soil on a north or east facing slope

bill