2020 Apple Tree Planting

Chad - You might also want to contact your state university there for apple / fruit tree / fruiting plants info or publications. I know Mich. State, Penn State, U. Illinois, Purdue, Cornell U., and Rutgers U. all have comprehensive fruit tree programs and have publications / online info and bulletins. I bought Penn State's book "Fruit Production for the Home Gardener" and it covers many fruiting trees and fruiting plants plus care for all of them. $12 - money well spent in my case!!!

I too agree with Apple Junkie. I would try to get a bigger rootstock than M-7 in the future. But maybe you don’t want your trees so big. Some of us have different ideas and goals. When I first started planting trees, I planted a few M-7s myself. If it wasn’t for this website, I could only imagine what my trees would look like. I probably wouldn’t have any for a few different reasons. This website is priceless.

I am no expert but I have managed to kill a lot of trees which may actually make me an expert in that. I would take those screens off. Besides the zip tie I don’t like the screen being black. It may be fine until winter but I could see it absorbing heat in the winter and leading to sun scald. Other than that it looks like you are off to a good start, welcome to the addiction.

Order some ag-lock or poly chain for attaching to stake. You can get a big role for $30 and it is always handy to have around.

Thank you! I do plan to document how things turn out. If everything turns out well, I will probably be adding to the orchard next year. I already planted the seed with my wife that honey bees might be in our future as well. :)

All of the trees came from Bailey's Nursery and except for the Chestnut Crabapple (Standard) all are semi-dwarf M7 rootstock. I don't have much experience with looking at trees but I was quite happy with how the looked and how tall they were.
Chad