All Things Habitat - Lets talk.....

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Howdy, new guy here

roymunson

5 year old buck +
Hey everyone, been stalking around here for a little bit. I'm a novice food plotter.

1 of the spots I hunt is a 40 acre pasture field, but it's surrounded by timber on 3 sides. 1 side is a "hunt club" that primarily gun hunts.

So dad's pasture has a brush hog on it, and an aerator for knifing up the soil. I mowed, sprayed, and aerated about 2 acres 2 weeks ago. Got it tore up enough, and planted some of this.
http://meritseed.com/ultra-max-annual/

Did a smaller version last year and was able to pull quite a few deer out of a CRP field from the hunt club, and into my plot.

I don't own the land, and the entire pasture field gets brush hogged by the owner multiple times a year. I'd love to get some switchgrass going on it, but we'll have to use it as a process.

I don't have a ton of useage or huge deer numbers in it, but hopefully things grow.

I kept part of the plot open to plant some cereal/browse grains in early september. I want it to be palatable when we open up the last week of september. Any great ideas on what to plant? I'm open to trying something new.

Shoulda mentioned, I'm in NE Ohio. About 90 minutes south of Cleveland

Welcome! glad to have you

welcome!

Welcome! The easy answer is brassicas. Plant them now and hope your deer like them. If they do you are all set if they don't back to the drawing board.

Welcome to the forum. If you are just starting, I'd recommend Winter Rye as a cereal grain for fall. It is easy to plant and very forgiving of soil fertility and pH. Deer love it and it is good for the soil.

Best of Luck,

jack