Clover vs Alfalfa

From all I've read, alfalfa is a plot you want to establish in a good spot / good ground and keep it going for some years. Is that a fair picture for a plan ?? We planted alfalfa last spring in a sunny field, on high ground that drains well, and the soil is crumbly and easily worked. It has Starfire red clover planted in with it. How long should this plot last ?? ( I mentioned this plot in post #11 ).

For alfalfa veterans - are we OK with this plot & it's location ?? My camp is new to alfalfa. We're more versed in clover, WR, WW, chicory, & brassicas. Thanks for any opinions.

For alfalfa veterans - are we OK with this plot & it's location ??

I'm no expert, but that sounds ideal.

After I do some soil building on the high side of one of my fields (lighter soil) I'm going to try alfalfa. I hope it's massive root system will do better on the higher and dryer part of the field than clover does. We'll see, I'm a season or two away from giving it another try. Gotta build the OM up first.

-John

pH needs to be in the high 6s for best results and fertilize to recommendations. Definitely doesn't like wet feet.

pH needs to be in the high 6s for best results and fertilize to recommendations. Definitely doesn't like wet feet.
Well good thing I got the lime man scheduled... Now i just need to deal with that wet spot in the center of the plot.. Need to cut a ditch i guess

Jordan,
That looks great. Based on the second pic the WW isn't going to shade anything out.
Clover likes a bit of shade anyway.

I'd leave it go and mow later if the broadleaf starts coming on.